ARRC, The Bend: Azlan eyes chance to gain 600cc title lead

The FIM Asia Road Racing Championship’s second round at The Bend Motorsport Park will be Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman’s best chance to gain the SuperSports 600cc title lead.

The newly-opened 4.9km circuit in South Australia represents a level playing field for teams and riders alike. The FIM Asia Road Racing Championship, together with the Australian Superbike Championship, will be the first major motorcycle race events to take place at The Bend.

The Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki Racing rider, who is also the defending champion of the premiere class, scored two third place finishes in Round 1 at the Chang International Circuit and is presently second on the championship ladder behind Anthony West.

However, the top-end of the SuperSports 600cc grid in Australia will see a number of absentees. Notably, championship leader Anthony West who has World SSP duties and Zaqhwan Zaidi whose focus this year would be the All Japan JSB1000 in preparation for the eventual introduction of the ASB1000 class in 2019.

Rider adaptability and ability to give accurate data and feedback to their respective team engineers will be the key to winning this race. In that sense, the senior riders would probably have a slight advantage over the younger set,” said Azlan.

The Malaysian’s key competitors are expected to be Thailand’s Decha Kraisart, and Japanese duo Tomoyoshi Koyama as well as Yuki Ito.


SuperSports 600cc Provisional Entry List


1 Broc Pearson*** 12   AUS Yamaha
2 Irfan Ardiansyah. 16 Astra Honda Racing Team INA Honda
3 Tom Toparis*** 17 Cube Racing AUS Kawasaki
4 Azroy Hakeem Anuar 20 Musashi Boon Siew Honda MAS Honda
5 Taiga Hada 23 Idemitsu Honda Racing India by T.Pro Ten10 JPN Honda
6 Decha Kraisart 24 YAMAHA Thailand Racing TEAM THA Yamaha
7 Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman 25 Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki Racing MAS Kawasaki
8 Andi Farid Izdihar 27 Astra Honda Racing Team INA Honda
9 Patrick Li 29 Webike IKAZUCHI Racing AUS Yamaha
10 Md Ramdan Rosli 32 Hong Leong YAMAHA Malaysia MAS Yamaha
11 Ahmad Yudhistira 33 Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki Racing INA Kawasaki
12 Scott Nicholson*** 39 NextGen Motorsports AUS Suzuki
13 Ratthapong Wilairot 56 YAMAHA Thailand Racing TEAM THA Yamaha
14 Keminth Kubo 64 YAMAHA Racing Team ASEAN THA Yamaha
15 Muhammad Ibrahim  Norrodin 66 ZK Racing  Kawasaki MAS Kawasaki
16 Yuki Ito 76 YAMAHA Racing Team ASEAN JPN Yamaha
17 Md Afiq Azmi 80 ONEXOX TKKR Racing Team MAS Yamaha
18 Keisuke Kurihara 88 A.P. Honda Racing Thailand JPN Honda
19 Md Muzakkir Mohamed 92 ONEXOX TKKR Racing Team MAS Yamaha
20 Passawit Thitivararak 123 A.P Honda Racing Thailand THA Honda
21 Kasma Daniel Kasmayudin 127 Hong Leong YAMAHA Malaysia MAS Yamaha
22 Tomoyoshi Koyama 634 Musashi Boon Siew Honda JPN Honda
23 TBC** TBC Webike IKAZUCHI Racing   Yamaha

About us is the worldwide web platform of italian website

Editor in chief: Paolo Gozzi, italian journalist engaged in motorcycling from early ’80.

Strategies and management: Gianluca Montiron, former MotoGP team principal of JiR.