24h Le Mans: SRC Kawasaki grabs the pole position

The 41st edition of 24 Heures Motos at Le Mans Circuit Bugatti will see SRC Kawasaki starting from pole position, but there will be many teams fighting for the win of this historic race, whose start is scheduled on Saturday 21st April at 15:00 local time. Gilles Stafler’s team grabbed the first place thanks to the average time of 1’36″946, resulting from an amazing lap by Randy De Puniet (the fastest one, 1’36″446) and two good laps by Mathieu Gines (1’37″231) and Jeremy Guarnoni (1’37″163, taken to Medical Centre after two crashes). SRC Kawasaki will start again from pole position after last year’s Bol d’Or and they will try to win after the big disappointment at the first 2017/2018 FIM EWC Round, when they were forced to retire after just 34 minutes.

ONCE AGAIN IN POLE POSITION – After winning 5 out of the latest 8 editions of 24 Heures Motos, SRC Kawasaki took one more pole position with the #11 Ninja ZX-10RR (equipped with Pirelli tyres) and the goal will be the 14th win of Kawasaki in Le Mans. But it won’t be easy, as it wasn’t easy to take pole position, a result they got thanks to the amazing job done by all the riders (including the young reserve rider Morgan Berchet). Kawasaki SRC was 155 milliseconds faster than YART Yamaha, in second place with the #7 Yamaha R1 (Bridgestone tyres) ridden by Broc Parkes (1’36″773), Marvin Fritz (1’36″545, celebrating his 25th birthday) and Takuya Fujita (1’37″968). Great job also by NRT48 (ex-Volpker), new reference BMW Motorrad Motorsport Team, that ranked third with Kenny Foray, the BSB and Road Racing star Peter Hickman and Lucy Glockner, very fast as she had already been at Bol d’Or.

FOURTH PLACE FOR GMT94 YAMAHA – In spite of doing no time attack, GMT94 Yamaha will start from fourth position with Niccolò Canepa, David Checa and Mike Di Meglio. The squad owned by Christophe Guyot remains the best Dunlop team followed by Suzuki Endurance Racing Team (with the GSX-R 1000 and Vincent Philippe, Etienne Masson and Gregg Black as riders), Honda Endurance Racing (Grégory Leblanc, Sébastien Gimbert, Erwan Nigon) and three more BMWs lined up by Tecmas, Penz13 and Mercury Racing, which close the top-10.

SUPERSTOCK – In the Superstock class Yamaha Viltais Experience, reigning class champion, took the pole position in front of Kawasaki Louit Moto.


About us

www.bikeandrace.com is the worldwide web platform of italian website www.corsedimoto.com.

Editor in chief: Paolo Gozzi, italian journalist engaged in motorcycling from early ’80.

Strategies and management: Gianluca Montiron, former MotoGP team principal of JiR.