Moto3 Assen, Race: Martin wins ahead of Canet and Bastianini, Bezzecchi crashes

Jorge Martin kicks off from the pole position and wins in Assen, closely followed by Aron Canet and Enea Bastianini. Bezzecchi falls down on the last lap.


We witnessed a fiercely fought race at the TT Circuit in Assen, as all the leading characters in the Moto3 Championship meet the expectations and gave us an amazing show all the way until the chequered flag. Jorge Martin eventually managed to gain a few tenths margin and conquered another victory, becoming also the new World Championship leader thanks to Marco Bezzecchi’s fall (during the final lap). Another Spanish rider made it to the podium: Aron Canet is 2nd, but Enea Bastianini’s season also seems to have taken a turn as he got the 3rd step of the podium.

As usual, Martin kicked off amazingly, followed by Bastianini and Dalla Porta, with Bezzecchi already aiming at the leading group. Bulega made a mistake that took him out of the top ten and he spent the rest of the race trying to win some positions back. Canet immediately started to complete very quick laps, but McPhee didn’t want to be left behind. There were all the ingredients for an awesome race in the Junior category: when Canet took the lead, he registered a new record time of 1:42.007, followed by Bezzecchi, Martin (still painfully recovering from his hard crash during FP), Bastianini and McPhee. A battling five-riders group breaking away.

Both Lopez and Foggia received a double penalty, that added up to their final times, for cutting through the chicane. The same happened to Antonelli, Ramirez, and Oettl. The battle for the podium continued with the same intensity throughout the race, up until the very end when McPhee fell followed soon after by Bezzecchi. This crash was a disaster for the Italian, as he lost the leadership to Jorge Martin, the true winner of this race. On the podium with the Spanish rider are Aron Canet and Enea Bastianini, and all three won by a large margin over the rest of the group.

Jaume Masia arrived 4th, just before Jakub Kornfeil, Lorenzo Dalla Porta, Darryn Binder, Gabriel Rodrigo, Fabio Di Giannantonio, Nicolò Bulega, Marcos Ramirez, and Dennis Foggia (the last two received a penalty): all these made up the second group of riders fighting for the top ten. Here the other Italian riders’ positions: Tony Arbolino 16th ahead of Niccolò Antonelli (with a penalty), Andrea Migno 26th ahead of Stefano Nepa.

The ranking

About us is the worldwide web platform of italian website

Editor in chief: Paolo Gozzi, italian journalist engaged in motorcycling from early ’80.

Strategies and management: Gianluca Montiron, former MotoGP team principal of JiR.