MotoGP Jerez, FP3: Record time for Marc Marquez, Q1 for Dovizioso!

Reigning MotoGP World Champion Marc Marquez stands out during FP3 as the best rider ahead of Crutchlow and Iannone. Dovizioso and Viñales will be running in Q1.

The most important FP round gave us some good surprises today: not in the leading positions, where we find Marc Marquez winning with a 1:37.702 (up to know, the best time here in Jerez) ahead of Cal Crutchlow. What came as a surprise is an unexpected absence in the top 10: the best Italian rider Andrea Dovizioso finished 11th and will have to run Q1. Same for Maverick Viñales who ended 12th; while their respective teammates, Lorenzo and Rossi, will be racing Q2 directly. Qualifying will start at 2:10 PM.

The temporary ranking consisting of the ten riders who will be competing for Q2 directly, based on Friday’s FP, underwent some changes today: in a few minutes, Marquez managed to realize the best time of the weekend, winning over Crutchlow (leading on Friday) and Pedrosa in the combined ranking. The situation remains difficult for the Yamaha Movistar team, but even Ducati’s riders are not safe yet, as they are all risking to be out of the top 10. The only fall in this round has been Rabat’s, on Pons Turn, right after climbing up to the top 10.

Times clearly improved compared to the first day of FPs, especially if we look at the last exciting minutes of this important round (when all riders left on new tires). Marquez made the best absolute time on the Andalusian track, followed by Crutchlow and Iannone; while Zarco arrived 4th ahead of Lorenzo, Miller and Rossi. Pedrosa managed to qualify for Q2 too, finishing 8th ahead of Petrucci and Rins. But two well-known names will have to run Q1: the World Championship leader Dovizioso and Viñales, respectively ranking 11th and 12th in this FP3.

The ranking

About us is the worldwide web platform of italian website

Editor in chief: Paolo Gozzi, italian journalist engaged in motorcycling from early ’80.

Strategies and management: Gianluca Montiron, former MotoGP team principal of JiR.