MXGP Portugal, Qualifying: Jeffrey Herlings wins in front of Antonio Cairoli

The qualifying race that took place at Agueda represented an exciting entry dish for the fans sitting on the grandstands, who could see one more duel between Antonio Cairoli and Jeffrey Herlings. At the end the Dutchman is the rider who won and behind him Cairoli and Romain Febvre finished 2nd and 3rd. The two races are scheduled on 15th April and they will start at 14:00 and 17:00 local time.

THE QUALIFYING – At the beginning Cairoli took the lead by overtaking Herlings and then he put a one-second gap between him and his rival, while Jeremy van Horebeek was immediately forced to retire after a crash. Later the advantage of the rider from Sicily was around one second and a half, but with few minutes left, Herlings caught Cairoli and overtook him to go first. In the last few laps TC222 made some mistakes and the 2015 MXGP World Champion Romain Febvre got closer and closer. In the final stages Cairoli and Febvre nearly caught Herlings, but the Dutch managed to win.



MX2 – MX2 Qualifying was won by the Spaniard Jorge Prado. The Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Team rider proved once again that he’s back after a tough start of the season and at the end he defeated Thomas Kjer Olsen and Jed Beaton, while the championship leader (and reigning Champion) Pauls Jonass finished 4th.

About us is the worldwide web platform of italian website

Editor in chief: Paolo Gozzi, italian journalist engaged in motorcycling from early ’80.

Strategies and management: Gianluca Montiron, former MotoGP team principal of JiR.