Supersport Assen, Race: Jules Cluzel wins in front of comeback Krummenacher!

The World Supersport which took place at Assen will be remembered as one of the most exciting one in the last few seasons, with seven riders fighting for the podium and a cracking final. Finally the win went to Jules Cluzel, who led most of the 18 laps of the race and came back to victory after 2016 Magny Cours Round (win n. 13 for him). But the greatest protagonist of the race was Randy Krummenacher: the Swiss rider had to start from the last row after a technical issue and then he recovered till second place, grabbed at the chequered flag after coming back to the front. “Krummenator” ranked second in front of Raffaele De Rosa (third on his MV Agusta machine), Lucas Mahias and Sandro Cortese.

GREAT BATTLE – Jules Cluzel took the lead at the start and in the upcoming laps he was leading a six-rider pack in the front, followed by Lucas Mahias, Sandro Cortese, Federico Caricasulo, Raffaele De Rosa and Luke Stapleford. While Cluzel was consistently in the front, Raffaele De Rosa came up to second place by overtaking Caricasulo, Cortese and Mahias. The MV Agusta rider then stayed behind Cluzel while the GRT Yamaha riders and Cortese overtook each other many times.

KRUMMENACHER, WHAT A RECOVERY! – In the meantinme, Randy Krummenacher carried a wonderful comeback after starting from the last position. The BARDAHL Evan Bros Yamaha rider finished the first lap in 17th position and then he recovered till seventh place by overtaking home hero Rob Hartog. Later, Krummenacher joined the front group by performing many fastest laps in a row.

CARICASULO CRASHES – The last six laps gave the Dutch spectators an amazing show with Krummenacher’s recovery (he even set the new race lap record: 1’38.108), non-stop overtaking and some coups-de-theatre, such as Federico Caricasulo’s crash. The GRT Yamaha rider was hit by Luke Stapleford at Ruskenhoek and had a scary high-speed fall, but fortunately he escaped unhurt.

CLUZEL WINS – After the crash of “Carica”, the six remaining front riders overtook each other till the chequered flag, when Jules Cluzel managed tobeat all the others. The French rider storms back to the title fight with a well-deserved victory and on the podium is joined by Randy Krummenacher and Raffaele De Rosa. Fourth and fifth place for Lucas Mahias and Sandro Cortese, while Luke Stapleford got a 30-second penalty due to the clash with Caricasulo.

CHAMPIONSHIP STANDINGS – Lucas Mahias remains the championship leader with 71 points, followed by Randy Krummenacher (70), Sandro Cortese (65), Jules Cluzel (50) and Federico Caricasulo (49).



About us is the worldwide web platform of italian website

Editor in chief: Paolo Gozzi, italian journalist engaged in motorcycling from early ’80.

Strategies and management: Gianluca Montiron, former MotoGP team principal of JiR.